An Emmy for Dexter’s Michael C. Hall: Fingers Crossed

I started watching Dexter about a month ago, and I really wasn’t sure what to expect. My boyfriend and I were looking for a series to replace Nip/Tuck which had become a serious addiction. We were having withdrawals, and so we went to the video shop to see what other series were on offer. The two guys who work at this particular video shop have obviously been trained to say that everything is brilliant – I REALLY wish that I’d picked up on that the first time we went in there. We took their advice and watched the first disc of Lie to me (*yawn* – snooze fest) and the first disc of Harper’s Island (tons of pointless dialogue, forgettable performances and incredibly cheesy murders – a whodunnit for morons), and then the first disc of … no, we’re not the biggest suckers in the world … that’s when we STOPPED going to that video shop! We went somewhere else where nobody offers any advice – that’s where we found a suitable replacement for Nip/Tuck – Dexter! If you’re a Dexter fan, you have amazing taste in TV – *cough* in my humble opinion.

I was pleased to see that both Dexter and Michael C. Hall have been nominated for an Emmy this year. But it seems like 2009 was Michel C. Hall’s year – he won the golden globe award for best actor in a Television Series or Drama and he also won the Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Drama Series. Unfortunately it was also the year that he came out about having cancer of the lymph nodes (lymphoma). Some accused Hall of playing the cancer card in order to secure a win at the Golden Globes (as if he had to, pfft). Well at least now he is cured, so there should be no back-biting if he deservedly walks away with the Emmy. He’s been nominated for an Emmy three years in a row, this being his third – I’m crossing fingers and toes that he wins this time. The only guy I’d be happy to see Hall lose to is Hugh Laurie. I’ve enjoyed too many episodes of House to deny the man credit where credit is due.

Oh, and here’s something I didn’t know (now some of you may wonder whether I’ve been living in a cave when you read this next part – no, actually it’s called South Africa) – I so wasn’t aware that the Dexter star is married to Jennifer Carpenter, the actress who plays his step-sister Debra Morgan on the show. That’s just wierd. I don’t like knowing stuff like that, the intertextuality messes with my brain. I won’t be able to stop thinking about the fact that she is actually his wife in real life 😉

I’m only on the first season by the way. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it thus far, so I’m really glad that there are many more hours of bizarre entertainment ahead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Emmy for Dexter’s Michael C. Hall: Fingers Crossed

  1. Pingback: The Emmy Awards: Thumbs Up For Modern Family Win | The Candid Cactus

Leave a Reply

