The Emmy Awards: Thumbs Up For Modern Family Win

I LOVE Modern Family – love. love. LOVE it! I watched the first season in the space of two weeks, and I was most upset when it ended. I can’t imagine a better cast than that showcased in this fabulous mockumentary.

Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy had me laughing out loud on many occassions, with his dorky ‘I’m trying to be a cool dad’ act. That one episode where he talks about how he’s in touch with texting lingo – LOL, laugh out loud, WTF, why the face? He just does dork so well. And he’s like a dumb puppy when it comes to gorgeous Gloria, played by Sofia Vergara. She’s like, ‘ello Pheeeel’ (in her thick Columbian accent), and he starts pawing at her dress like she asked him to feel. bahahaha.

As a whole, Modern Family is just fab – the writing, the directing, the acting, all of it. So I’m glad it was recognized in the Outstanding Comedy Series category. I think the fact that it beat outrageously popular shows like Glee and 30 Rock really says something.

Some more shining moments for Modern Family included the award to Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd for Outstanding writing for a comedy series – and this was specifically for the Pilot episode. This also proves how amazing the show is, because in my not-so-humble opinion, pilots are never great. It always takes a while to get into a series. This one grabs you from the very first episode. I mean Cameron introducing their baby Lily at the family gathering to the Lion King soundtrack was just ridiculously funny.

And I’m glad to see that Eric Stonestreet who plays Cameron in Modern Family also won an Emmy. If I recall correctly, it was for his performance in the ‘Fizbo the clown’ episode. That part where he got out of the car at the gas station to defend Mitchell, dressed like a clown, was definitely an award-worthy moment. Although I can think of a few more – the episode where he cries more than Lily (their baby) while trying to sleep train her, or the pilot episode when he claims he is nesting in preparation for receiving the baby, and then it flashes to a shot of him gorging himself in the pantry.

After watching Eric Stonestreet play camp Cameron in Modern family, you’d never believe that he’s really straight. I know I’m no expert, but I think he plays gay better than his co-star, Tyler Ferguson, who is gay in real life.

If you haven’t watched an episode of Modern Family, you simply have to get your hands on the entire first season and watch it from the very first episode. It’s a hoot from start to finish.

The praise garnered by this new comedy series made the Emmy Awards for me. As some may know, I wrote a post a little while back about my hopes for Michael C Hall to win an award for Dexter. I’m still loving every moment of Dexter, even though I’m only on the second season. Unfortunately, he lost to the guy from Breaking Bad – maybe he deserved it, I don’t know because I’ve never watched the show. Does anyone care to enlighten me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

